top of page

A self-makeover

Hi guys!

Sorry it took me so long to put something new up - I wanted to do my makeover together with quick step-by-step for eye makeup of my look, so it took me some time to prep everything. And trust me - it's not easy with full time job and a house to sort out :)

I just thought hey, I am making up all those stunning girls, but you have never seen me without makeup before. Soo (deep breath), let's to make that clear - I need makeup too :)

Please note - this is almost a dupe for the makeup I've created for Street Fashion shoot few blog posts earlier. I have been asked to do a tutorial so here it is.

Sorry for the slightly different light on pictures - weather is not spoiling us in Uk recently. It was hard to get steady light. I've tried my best editing, so you could see real colours.

Maybe, I will start with "before" and "after" pic, so you can see what we are working with :)

Heh, now you know :D

Into the making then..

Maybe I'll start with some details about my skin. I've hit 30 this year, so I can see first signs of wrinkles, sagginess and lack of glow in general. I have combination skin, quite oily in my T zone, with enlarged pores and easily forming blackheads. It is managable with exfoliating every day using AHA and BHA acids and hot cleanse with natural oil blend I've composed myself. I have constant healing post acne blemishes ( I get hormonal spots once a month) and on top of that I have some brown sun spots underneath my eyes. Not mentioning dark circles I have since childhood (it's down to very thin skin under the eyes).

So, as you can imagine, I need some special gear to get the look on the right :)

List of makeup used.

Face

-Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate

-Revlon Colorstay Foundation for normal/dry skin150 Buff

-Maybelline Dream Flawless Nude Fluid-Touch Foundation 30 Sand (just a drop to warm up the foundation)

-B.Radiant Under Eye Concealer 124 Light

-BECCA Compact Concealer Bisque

-Revlon Nearly Naked Presed Powder 010 Fair/Clair

-Ben Nye Neutral Set Colorless Face Powder

-KOBO Professional Matt Bronzing & Contouring Powder 308 Sahara Sand

-Bourjois Pudre Delice Bronzing Powder 51

-Zoeva Luxe Color Blush Shy Beauty

-The Balm Mary Louminazer Highlighter

Eyes

-Revlon Colorstay Concealer 02 Light/Pale (base)

-Zoeva Graphic Eyes Eyeliner Back To Earth (black)

-MAC Pigment Colour Powder Vanilla

-Sleek black eyeshadow (from one of the pallettes)

-Makeup Revolution Mono Eyeshadow Pure

-Makeup Revolution Mono Eyeshadow Delicious

-L'oreal Super Liner So Couture Black

-Benefit They're Real Mascara Black

Eyebrows

-Maybelline Browdrama Sculpting Brow Mascara Dark Blond

-MAC Single Eyeshadow Coquette

Lips

-NYX Slim Lip Pencil Natural

-Bourjois Rouge Edition Aqua Laque 01Appechissant

Detailed eye step-by-step now :)

1. Line the eyes with soft black pencil/khol, creating cat eye shape, smudge (it does not have to be perfect). Also, use the same thing on the waterline and tightline of your eye (I left the inner waterline pencil-free because my eyes are quite small. Big eyes- cover whole waterline). Try to be sensible with the length of the wing - it has to be in right proportion with the eye, otherwise it will make the eyes appear smaller).

2. Apply highlighter to inner corner of the eye, blend towards the centre of the eyelid. Then apply matt black eyeshadow in the outer corner of the eye, covering the pencil. Tip - do not apply it too high - we will be blending it out, so you may end up with eyeshadow being applied too high.

3.Using matt dark brown eyeshadow blend the black eyeshadow out, applying it towards the centre of the eyelid and blending the black eyeshadow slightly up.

4. Using lighter matt brown, apply it to the cinner corners of the eye, blending it up and towards the centre, so it blends nicely with dark brown. Now, using the same shade, blend the edges of the whole eye makeup, so it creates nice fade.

5.Apply the black eyeshadow on the lower lash line in outer corner, then blend it with dark brown in the centre and again, blend it out with lighter brown towards the inner corner. I leave the inner lower lash line eyeshadow-free to avoid my eyes looking smaller (you want to stop underneath the widest point of the eye to makes eyes appear wider and bigger).

6.Apply black eyeliner to the lash line and wing it out, tracing the border of your eyeshadow. I've made a little sharp end in my inner corner to emphasize the cat eye shape. Curl the eyelashes, apply mascara. You can apply falsies for a dramatic look.

Hope that it was easy to fallow, please let me know, if I can improve things in a future, so you can benefit more.

Final results guys! :)

Thanks for stopping by! :)

*Gwedhan xx

bottom of page